Bluff Road and Final Project

November 17, 2010 at 12:46 AM Leave a comment

For my last photography blog post, I decided to do a combination of my own images and others.  The idea is that this is what I have, and this work by Gerry Melendez is a good example of what I want to do.  Melendez did a photo essay of Bluff Road for The State newspaper, and he got some great pictures of the people living there.  It gave me some great ideas, though I know this will be a challenge for me.  I still have a tough time taking pictures of people I don’t know.

Bluff Road Diaries

His pictures are almost all candid, but you can tell he put a lot of thought into the lighting and composition of the photos.  It was hard for me to pick favorites out of these photos.  I really like the picture of the flowers and woman where the color of the flowers matches the woman’s red dress.  I also like the picture of the man being framed by the window curtains while he is getting a haircut.  It’s really impressive that he got such good composition with such candid photos.  He’s obviously very aware of his surroundings at all times.

I haven’t gotten many pictures of people yet.  I tried to get some of people playing disc golf, but the lighting wasn’t good, and I really think I need a telephoto lens for that portion of the assignment, as well as when I take pictures of dogs.  Here’s two of my favorites that I’ve taken so far.

I think my favorite thing about this photo is the color.  The yellows, reds, and greens really pop in this picture.  I tried to make the tree frame the doorway of the house a little, and I think it succeeded to an extent.  It doesn’t frame it completely, but I like that.

I think the reason why I like this photo should be obvious.  It’s really the personality and humor of this photo that makes it good more than composition.  I think I might come back and retake this photo, because I didn’t really get the angle I wanted.  I’ll have to bring a chair or something to stand on.  What I really want to do is focus more on the “Hammertime” sticker and have the “stop” on the stop sign just barely in the picture to let you know what it is.  I know that might not be a good description of what I plan to do, but I think it will look a lot better.  If not, this one is adequate.
Like I said, I still need some good pictures of people.  This is a good start, but the people are what really make the community, so photos of them and their dogs are crucial.  I hope to get some when the weather clears up the rest of this week.

 

Entry filed under: JOUR 537.

Snoop Goodbye, WordPress!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts


